Old Faithful and the Cheat

Yes, I feel like a cheater.

First off, let me introduce you to Globe. This was the bike that kind of got the whole getting more active thing started for me. I got this about five years ago, used it first for some shorter rides, slowly expanding into 17 mile work commutes.

SAM_0053

Now, the relationship was rough to begin with. I’ll be honest, I was pretty harsh. Us super clydes (a cycling term for really big riders) can be that way. This was a delicate little thing, not really made for the kind of treatment it was about to get when it rolled out of the store. It wasn’t long until there were real problems. A busted seat, broken seat post, busted spokes on the back wheel, busted pedals. I promise I wasn’t trying to be abusive. I was ready to blame her, you know? But I knew deep down it was my own fault.

But then things got better. After fixing things up, for the most part things were good.

But…  I don’t know, maybe we just drifted or something. I had different ideas. This was a bike made for short trips. I was longing for something more. I don’t know, maybe it was all stuff that was out of my league, but let’s face it. Bike lust had set in. Somewhere in my mind I thought, if I got lighter, if I did better, I could graduate to a good road bike. And I started flirting. I got an old Schwinn, much like the one I had back in high school and college. I guess it was one of those old flame things. But somehow I knew, it just wasn’t right. But that started something. I learned how to work on bikes. And even though I went back to the Globe, my heart was wandering…

2014-08-06 06.30.09And the

n there was the Fuji. Oh man it rode nice, for an old beat up thing. I poured countless hours into fixing it up. I even painted it.

2015-04-10 11.27.59 2015-04-12 19.10.29

I bought it nice things. Treated it nicely. The Fuji and I were ready to really go places.

2015-05-16 06.42.31

And for awhile, we did. Riding was bliss. We went all over together. But then, little thing were happening. Paint started chipping. A wheel gave out. A derailleur bent. It wasn’t working too well.

And there was old faithful. Even though I wandered, the Globe was still there.

Today, Globe and I went on a 31 mile ride. We looked at gifts together.

SAM_0051

We even checked out Hudson Gardens together.

SAM_0052

And yet.. I’m feeling really guilty. Don’t tell Globe, but…  my heart is still wandering. Truth be told, the Globe just isn’t a Pedal the Plains kind of bike, you know? Twenty miles in and you can just tell. We’re not a fit.

I know, that sounds horrible, doesn’t it? Here this bike has stayed faithful all these years. I keep going back to her – always on the rebound, you know? And all this time, while it’s been taking me all around town, taking me in to work, all this…

I’m planning my next cheat.

In fact, I’ve been cheating more than you might realize. I picked up a Bridgestone. And some other bikes. A LOT of bikes actually, it’s kind of scary. Is this an addiction? But now, I’ve been able to sell them off…

Oh man…  bike trafficking. It just gets worse, doesn’t it?

And all of this, all part of my plot to cheat in a whole new way…

Someday soon, I’ll be introducing you to my new friend.

Just don’t tell the Globe. I still have some riding to do before it’s all said and done.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment