A Graduation of Sorts

Today it’s official.

Big Red is gone. Good bye old friend. You’ve been a loyal companion.

2015-07-26 17.30.29

Someone bought the Globe.

It’s a bittersweet kind of thing. I’m happy to have found a home for it, and in fact it the one who bought it is a bit of a bigger guy, someone just getting into riding a bit more, and I honestly am excited that this bike gets to serve its purpose all over again.

Maybe more than anything I’m just feeling guilty. Read back a couple posts. This old friend was always there, was always a go to. And what do I do? Seal the deal. Sell it up the river. Give it a good kick in the pants, don’t let the door hit you on the way out. I feel like scum.

Okay, I really don’t. I’m a little excited about it really. Selling this bike gave me what I need to get the last pieces in place for the next level.

I think the reason I’m excited is that this is officially unofficially a graduation of sorts. The bike has been a good one for what it was: A starter bike for a fat guy. Okay, I’m still a fat guy, back in the day I was happy about being able to ride a couple miles without getting too winded. It got me back in love with cycling, or at least helped set the course. And in the end, it did what it was supposed to do, work itself out of a place. I’m riding further, and this kind of bike, once you go so far it starts getting really really uncomfortable.

In the end, as unfaithful as this makes me feel towards a bike that has been so loyal…

Okay, enough of this loyal garbarge. It’s a bike. It’s a stinking piece of metal. A very heavy  contraption, which doesn’t make sense since it was mostly aluminum….  but it’s a thing. It’s a bike. It cannot be loyal. It just is.

Okay, I feel better. Now, where was I?

Anyway, it’s another step forward. For a guy who had about mailed it in as far as any level of activity whatsoever, there’s a joy to knowing you’re moving forward. There is a deep sense of satisfaction knowing that you’re at a point where you WANT to do more, you love doing more, and you’re ready to move on to whatever will help you get to where you can do more. I don’t know if it makes sense, but then it doesn’t have to. It makes sense to me.

And so…  the next level?

This post is already getting too long. Have to save it for another post.

But…  a teaser.

fff

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

