Baptism By Dirt

The good news is I got the last parts for my bike the day before leaving for a week long vacation. The bad news is, it was the day before leaving for vacation.

The good news is, I took the bike along.

The bad news is, my first real shake down cruise on the bike had to be in the mountains.

The good news is, my first real shake down cruise on the bike had to be in the mountains.

The first reviews are in…  I LOVE this bike! Wow – it rides so easily.

It wasn’t a huge ride, just 11 miles. But it was 11 miles on Engineer’s pass, a route that the really recommend you use an ATV or at the very lowest end something like a jeep if you’re going to drive it. My wife Janiece and I did it on our bikes. Okay, the part we rode was before you get to the rough terrain, and we were REALLY slow. But the beauty of it is that the climb on the way up was steeper than any of the climbs we’ll have on Pedal the Plains, at 6,000 feet higher elevation than Pedal the Plains will be…  and we nailed it!

2015-08-04 12.32.38

So I’m not great with the selfies yet.

So here’s this bike that I got to do more road miles, and its first real test is acting more like a mountain bike than a road bike. Okay, again, the road was really in great condition and it certainly wasn’t extreme riding or anything like that.

I will say, the disc brakes need some further adjusting. Coming down the pass was a bit hairy, squeezing both brakes for all they are worth and still rolling along. Yes, it would help if there wasn’t so much momentum that they had to try to reverse. Stupid physics anyway!

2015-08-04 11.57.12 2015-08-04 12.07.26

We vacationed in the area last year, and I did some running then. With as gorgeous as the scenery is, this is one of the reasons for getting out like this – I’ve driven this road before and it was incredible. But it was nowhere near as amazing as it is on a bike. Days like this are what it’s all about.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment