Peddling the Plains

I was just getting ready to say long time no write. Then I realized that was the title of my last post. So much for originality.

It’s impossible to cover everything that’s happened, not that there’s been all that much. Okay, so if there hasn’t been that much, why is it impossible?

Because I’m lazy, k? Happy?

Okay, so maybe I’m getting a bit defensive about this long layoff from writing. So let’s just fast forward a bit here, how’s that?

I haven’t run a lick in several months. Okay, a few times running across the street. Ultimately with all the bike tinkering I’ve been doing, it really has me more interested in riding. Then I got a nice little excuse for making the switch when I found I’ve got arthritis in my right ankle – that about knocked me out for a month from doing much of anything.

I went back and read my last post and it was all about the blog shifting to just being about taking control of life. If I haven’t blogged, have I lost control? Maybe. I’m almost done with my degree. My weight is about the same. I HAVE been riding a fair bit, I’ve been working on averaging 10 miles a day and have actually been right on track. And I still have Pedal the Plains on the radar.

In May we went out to Nebraska, and along the way we drove along the route that PTP is taking from Sterling, Colorado to Julesburg. This is definitey rideable. In fact, my wife is thinking of doing this as well. Coming back, we drove another leg of the route, Holyoke to Sterling. I spent a summer in Holyoke many many years ago, I forgot how amazingly flat that section is. Again, very rideable. I can do this.

I went and re-built an old road bike. Not sure yet whether that’s going to work well enough, but it’s been fun. The biggest thing right now is getting enough riding in to get where I can feel comfortable sitting on a bike for several hours a day. So maybe it’s a good exercise to get back into blogging on this all.

Holy cow there are a million directions I can go right now. The nail in the tire. The many bikes. The rides. How excited I am about the route for PTP.

My posts already get too long though, so…  I’ll end it here. For now. Does that mean for another day, another month, or several months? Who knows? No one’s reading this anyway, I’m pretty sure. So for all anyone knows, there could just be crickets chirping away.

Which makes me wonder, if crickets are chirping in the blogosphere but there’s no one there to read the blog, did the crickets really make a figurative noise?

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

