Long time no blog

I wonder if blog sites like WordPress keep stats on most frequently used titles. If so, this title or something like it has to be pretty high up on the list.

And usually, when someone’s doing a blog similar to this one, when they fall off the face of the blogosphere like this it means one of three things: they’ve lost interest in blogging, they’ve kinda fallen out of their routines that would go with this kind of blog, or they’ve actually fallen off the face of the earth. Well, for me, it was probably more of #2 than anything.

I’ve been working on my Masters degree, and the way classes got scheduled at Concordia where my program is, I had a bunch of my required courses that all bunched together. If I had started 8 weeks earlier, that wouldn’t be a problem, but I didn’t, so it is.

I know, that seems totally unrelated to the paragraph directly above, doesn’t it?

Anyway, I’m getting close to being done. Close enough that my options were either take them all together, or delay my graduation a full year so I could take one course much later than planned. I opted to cram it all in. So essentially that turned into working full time as well as taking what amounts to full time and a half of a class load of graduate work. Translation, I got so zoned in on that, it became a convenient excuse for letting up on the running. Because let’s be honest, it really was an excuse.

Yeah, I was busy. I think busier than I’ve ever been. But it’s still an excuse and I can prove it (though you don’t really need proof, I’m sure as soon as you saw that song and dance about how busy I was you were probably thinking, yeah, that’s an excuse). But you know, during that time I’ve taken up tinkering with old bikes and I’ve given that plenty of time. What that says is, even when you’re really busy, you can always make time for things that are important. Ultimately, I didn’t.

Does that mean that running has dropped in importance? Maybe. Probably. I don’t know. Or maybe I do and just don’t want to admit it? Maybe it’s laziness finally setting in. Maybe it’s that I’ve enjoyed the process and the improvements with running but maybe didn’t enjoy the running as much? I know that at some point, maybe last fall, I started thinking in my mind that after this year, I want to shift gears over to cycling and maybe focus on some longer bike rides, get into touring. Is that wimping out on something like running? I know, you can do both, right? And it’s certainly easier finding places to run than to bike when there’s all this snow on the ground.

So I don’t know, maybe that was the spark. Or the anti-spark. I got more involved in other things, runs through the summer cut down to a couple times a week. Then once a week. So by the time September rolled around with the crazy school schedule, it just made it convenient to quit running.

And along the way, I quit paying attention to diet.

So I’m not running. I’m getting fatter. It makes it a bit difficult to get onto this blog where I was so enthusiastic about running because, well, I’m not any more and I’m not good at faking it. So this long deafening silence. Not that it’s deafening really, it’s more a tree falling in the forest. You know, you quit writing and the few readers you may have had have now moved on to other things.

Which of course means that if I were speaking these words instead of writing, there’d probably be a noticable echo because of no one being there to hear the words, and maybe crickets. Translation: there just may be no one to read this. But that’s okay. It’s good for me to do this all the same.

Somewhere along the line though, I kept thinking about the title of this. Remember the Rain. And that has stuck with me. I’m getting closer to that rainy day and I’ve resolved I’m not going there. It’s not about running. It’s about losing sight. Running was part of the whole process of getting better, but it was just a part. Keeping moving, and eating well… just being healthy. Here’s my opportunity to catch myself before it all goes south.

So I’m back. Not sure what that’s going to look like. Running may or may not be a part of it. I see myself getting into cycling more. I’m having a ball right now messing with old bikes, fixing them up, selling them or parting them out, all along gradually upgrading my own bike. I’m falling in love again with the kind of bikes that were around when I was younger. I have 2 things sitting in the back of my mind that I’d love to do some day. One is to ride Pedal the Plains, a 3 day ride in the eastern plains of Colorado. The other is BRAN – Bike Ride Across Nebraska. That’s one I’ve wanted to do since 1982, which I believe is the first year they had that ride. If I ever had a bucket list, that is one that has always been on it.

Is this going to shift to a cycling blog? Probably not as much as it had been a running blog. It’s more a taking control of life blog. It may become more of a keto/low carb blog. Maybe it’s a keep myself accountable blog, because maybe it’s no coincidence that blogging and losing control on some other things all happened together.

So I feel the need to throw out this disclaimer that I can’t say for sure that I’m going to be better at the blogging. I’ve blogged before. And I’ve lost interest before. So I know myself. And so I’ve thrown out that disclaimer when I’ve been back, and then eventually just fell off the face of the blogosphere.

I can’t do that this time. There’s something symbolic, maybe it’s a discipline thing. I may never have anyone following this blog ever again. That’s okay. This isn’t for followers, it’s a part of the process of that taking care of myself, so I’m blogging for me. If anyone else is still along for the ride, I’ll try to keep it interesting. Fortunately, life always has a way of keeping itself interesting, doesn’t it?

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Long time no blog

  1. Sandy says:

    I’m listening! And cheering you on. Bike or blog, just keep moving. Not because you HAVE to, but because you know you feel better when you do. Start slow. Remember the Compound Effect. I’m in the same spot, sorta. Been walking several miles a day. Save the knees! My fight now is to get back in the pool. Make you a deal: I’ll get back to swimming, you get back to riding. ‘Kay?

Leave a Reply

