Brain Farts and Changes of Plans

I have friends and family members who ran the Lincoln Marathon today.  They did the half. For a relatively unknown event, it’s pretty amazing though that it sells out within a matter of hours. I knew people who were staying up New Year’s Eve not for the New Years Eve part but so that they could get their registration in. It looks like it’s a very well run race with a lot of support.

I mean, how often do you get to see this on a race?

Taking Water Service Seriously

This guy’s been volunteering at the race like this for 20 years.

It has me a little wistful. My plan originally was I’d be doing the Colfax half marathon in 2 more weeks. That all has changed because of a little brain fart.

I’ve never done Colfax before. I have no idea why I always had it in my mind that it was a Saturday race. Anyway, one of my big goals for this year was to start preaching again as the opportunity arises if it arises. I’ve been attending a church lately that is in between ministers, so they have been having people fill in. I was excited to get my first opportunity to preach at a church service in several years last month, and they asked me to do it again this month. I committed, figuring I’d be really sore but worse case scenario is I could look hip by sitting on a stool or something like that.

You can guess where this is going. Colfax is on that Sunday.

Another Bull Shannon moment

Another Bull Shannon moment

I’ve trained for Colfax but also made a commitment to fill in for that Sunday and right now, that commitment is the priority for me. So I’m looking for another half to take its place.

The good news is it’s not like there isn’t a long list of halfs going on around here this summer. Right now I’m thinking either Boulder Heart and Soul or the Slacker Half. What I like about the Slacker is it’s all downhill – I could go for that! Boulder is a good one, my wife did that a couple years ago. There’s a couple nice ones in the mountains but wondering about going that much higher in elevation.

But I do find myself thinking maybe I’ll be up late this New Year’s Eve. Might be kinda fun to go home for the marathon next year.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

