Bowling and Running don’t mix

There’s a reason I quit bowling.

Okay, I don’t know that I ever actually quit.  I mean, until yesterday I haven’t bowled in years, and I think I’ve bowled maybe twice in ten or more years.  But I never really got to where I said that’s it, I’m done.  

I may be now.  

Blame it on the shoes.

Here I’ve been running all over and have never had blister problems.  Go bowling one night and I’m practically crippled.

Okay, big overstatement.  I can still walk and run just fine.  There’s just this one big blister right on top of my middle toe and I’m just a big baby.  Sometimes it’s okay to be a bit (a LOT) of a drama queen over a wee bit of pain.  Excruciating as it is.  Well, excruciating only when something touches it, but again, why admit that if it ruins my chance at supreme drama?  I think it’s time for my crutches.

I’m usually size 13.  Those were horrible.  I went to 14’s.  They seemed okay, til halfway through.

You don’t stop bowling halfway through to go ask for even bigger shoes, right?  

There’s a reason bowlers have their own shoes.  Once upon a time I had my own bowling shoes, believe it or not.  And my own bowling ball.  I really have no idea whatever happened to either the ball or shoes.  I don’t remember ever selling them, giving them away or anything like that.  They must have somehow slipped into an alternate universe, hanging out somewhere with a lot of single socks and my 1957 Brooks Robinson baseball card.  

And that is probably why you never have to wait in line any more to get a lane these days.  Because really, who wants to go out and get their own bowling shoes?  Yeah, renting is great, until you totally mess up your foot with those rental shoes.

All this trauma a week before my first race of the year.

Yeah, I know, it’s only a 5k.  I think I’ll be fine.  They do have this thing called bandaids.

Wow.  I so freshly remember when a 5K seemed unattainable.  I pretty well remember when a .5K (that’s POINT 5K) was possibly doable but grounds for a heart attack.  I would never have thought in those days that I would ever, EVER utter the words ‘it’s only a 5k.’ 

All of a sudden that blister doesn’t hurt so much.

I still don’t think you’ll ever get me into rental bowling shoes again.  You don’t think they’ll let me bowl in my Mizuno’s, would they?

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

