The Secret to Losing Weight? Having Weight to Lose!

Today was my weigh in for the end of the 90 day challenge I’ve been participating in.  

31.4 pounds.  From 336.1 to 304.7.  A pound every three days.  I’ll take it.  My body fat percentage went from 42 to 36%, or something like that.  Again, I’ll take it.  It feels good to be in the low 3’s.  It’s going to feel even more awesome to be in the 2’s.  I love being in range of that – though it’s frustrating when you get close to a huge milestone like that and it doesn’t happen faster.  

I was asked how I did it.  My answer right away was that I finally got more serious about WHAT I was eating.  I had already been doing better at how much, and doing better at avoiding a lot of things that I should be avoiding, but also had been pretty casual at times as well.  And while I’ve been running and working out – I’ve got all this blogging to attest to that – I think what really helped was to crack down and take my eating seriously.  

But then I realized too, that one of the things that makes a lot of difference about taking off a lot of weight is having a lot to take off int he first place.  I certainly had that one down pat.  The truth is I cannot compare myself to someone who is closer to their weight goal.  The time is going to come for me when the weight loss is going to slow, and very possibly level off.  It’s a lot easier to go from 42 to 36% than it is to go from 36 to 29% body fat.  

I don’t know the physics behind how these scanners figure this out – it gives me weights for my arms and legs and trunk, and figures out how much of my weight is bones and muscle.  Once upon a time I was going off whatever standard is out there for height and weight and deciding my ideal weight should be 200 pounds.  From this scan I found that if I weighed 200 pounds, that would be about 3% body fat.  Maybe 200 isn’t a realistic goal?  

Right now I’ll be thrilled at 299.  At least for a little while.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Secret to Losing Weight? Having Weight to Lose!

Leave a Reply

