Two Hours of Running and Felling Surprisingly Well

After being sick a bit, after having weather and illness and such pretty much wipe out my long runs for two weekends in a row, I really wasn’t too sure what to expect today doing a 2 hour run.  I know I was a bit intimidated going into it, thinking maybe I should shorten it up a bit.  I got a lot of weeks ahead of me, plenty of time to back up the schedule a bit.

Then I decided what the heck, I’ll see if I can do it.

At the end of two hours I’m still running.  I set myself out to do a 145 steps per minute cadence and pretty well maintained that all through the run.  Granted, towards the end the steps are getting a little shorter and I’m running a little slower, but…  it felt pretty good.

Surprisingly good.

Yes, it was slow.  This was nothing new.  But I loved that I could keep going with pretty good energy, in fact I know I could have kept going for awhile.

A year ago, when I was getting into runs of this duration, I was definitely feeling the tank running out and wondering if I’d make it.

Granted, there were some killer hills in those runs, so maybe it’s not a great comparison.

But a year ago I had ramped up a little better to those runs.  So I guess it goes both ways.

I didn’t eat on the run.  Instead, after about 3 miles, I mixed up a packet of Generation U-Can into my water and drank that as I ran.  It seemed to do the job, I definitely didn’t feel the highs and lows that I felt last year, energy felt much more steady.

And maybe that didn’t surprise me as much because I had pretty good luck with previous runs using that stuff.  I just wish it didn’t taste so chalky.

But here’s the part that really has me pretty amazed.  It’s been a couple hours now.  My ankle feels awesome.  Actually, it feels better than the rest of my legs – that whole rigor mortis things is setting in with the muscles after running that long.  But normally this ankle is stiffening up right away, but nothing.  It feels…  normal.  What a weird thing.

Is it the shoes?  I do wonder if getting into a neutral shoe now isn’t helping at least somewhat – where before the shoes were trying to provide support that really was no longer needed.  Maybe?  Maybe it’s being a little bit lighter.  Right now I’m probably ten to fiften pounds below my running weight for the half marathon.  I’m not sure that’s enough of a difference to make that kind of difference.  Is it my diet?  As part of this whole fat burning approach to training I’ve pretty much eliminated sugars, flour, most starchy things from my diet.  I understand that inflammation is a lot less on this kind of diet.  Maybe that’s it.

It’s just an awesome feeling, where it seems the nutritional piece is falling into place, the whole energy situation is great, and I’m feeling much better after runs.  This bodes well for the half marathon in eight weeks.

Now the full thing in September?  I know, that’s a totall different animal.  We’ll cross that bridge when it’s time.  Right now, I’m pretty pumped.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two Hours of Running and Felling Surprisingly Well

  1. Great to see that you’re feeling better, especially after being sick. Perhaps having a couple of weeks of not running has helped in some way, but it sounds like you’ve got everything else working well for you now too – nutrition, weight, shoes etc. As you say, it’s great when things start to fall into place. 🙂

Leave a Reply

