Not Quite Roger Bannister, But I’ll Take It

Last night I was going to meet someone at the Y but we got our schedules mixed up.  So I figured while I’m there I’ll get a mile in on the track. It was nice out and there’s a good trail by the Y, but I was a bit curous about trying out a new app.

I just wrote out a long description of the app and realized, that’s not what I’m talking about here.  Maybe I’ll do a review later.  The main reason I wanted to try it out is it has a lap feature for indoor running.  You put how many laps per mile then each lap you tap the screen.  It’s a great idea for the most part, though it means 17 times per mile on this track pulling up the stupid phone and tapping the screen.

Actually, it wasn’t all that bad.  Though I had visions of my phone flying out of my hand onto the gym below and scattering into pieces amongst all the ladies doing Zumba.  Which reminds me, I really need to put that Otterbox back on my phone.

I wish I’d found the app before – it’s actually much better for tracking indoor runs.  The other thing that’s cool is it measures your cadence – I gotta say I’m amazed at the kinds of things you can do with a phone.  Flashlight?  check.  Level?  check.  Exercise tracker?  check.  Roto dial phone?  Abso freakin lutely – yes, I have that, and yes, it works.

I’ve been training kind of slowly but I decided to bust out a good run this time.  I just wanted to see how quickly I could do a mile.

I’m hoping a couple years from now, maybe even a few months from now, I can look at this and say man, that was slow.  11:24.  But where I am and where I’ve been, I’m ecstatic.  This was like a Roger Bannister beating the 4 minute mile kind of moment for me.  I can remember not that long ago doing some little bursts and being pleased to get under a 12 minute pace for a few seconds.  I held it for a full mile, and could have kept going really.

I don’t know that I could hold the pace for a full 5K.  Not now.  But by the time I do the Cherry Creek Sneak in 5 or 6 weeks?

This to me though just felt like — wow – progress!  This to me felt a lot like how incredible it felt to complete 20 minutes of running straight.  Because it wasn’t just the slow shuffle jog I always say I’m doing.  This was more of a run, and it was sustained.

Kinda felt like doing the Usain Bolt pose, you know?

And then my app tells me I was running about 150 steps per minute.

Not terrible.  I keep hearing 180 is a good target.  Wow…

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

