Restlessness

I think that pretty well sums up everything for me right now.

I’ve been cooped up with some sinus thing since Saturday and I’m anxious to get out and run again.  How much of my life did I ever think I’d never hear THOSE words come out of my mouth?  

Weight loss has taken off as of late.  As of this morning I’ve dropped 20 for the year.  Nothing like success to keep you laser focused.  I’ve just had a focus on what are the right foods to fuel me in my runs (when I get back out there again!) and to continue this progress.  And again, there’s restlessness because when it’s going so well you start to see the light at the end of the tunnel.  The look in the mirror is so much better and you start picturing even better, and it’s hard to wait for that.

I think February is a perfect time of year for restlessness.  Especially years like this – It has in all reality been a pretty good February for Colorado.  Yes, it is 12 degrees outside as I write this.  Hence the restlessness.  We’ve had some gorgeous days.  We’ve had some downright cold ones but honestly, more good days than bad.  I mean it’s February for gosh sakes.  I think it’s that we get these hints of spring and you want so badly to say yes, winter is finally over.  And then the temps drop 40 degrees in a matter of hours, the winds pick up and 2 days after it was 60 outside there’s snow on the ground.  I’ve heard more complaints about the weather these past couple weeks — did I mention it’s FEBRUARY???  I think the nicer the February the more prone we are to complain, because the nice days are a carrot on the stick and they lull us into a sense that winter’s done.  But it’s February, right?  Yes, I checked my calendar.  Feburary.  In Colorado.  Weather like today is the norm.  This should surprise me?  It’s just that all these bouts of 60-degree days have me ready for spring.

I’m restless career wise.  I am a bit amazed at how engaged I’ve been in my Master’s program.  And it all has my head spinning about where this is leading in my career.  It’s weird because I’ve sort of specialized myself into a career path that doesn’t really exist and yet my mind isn’t spinning so much about what jobs are available as much as, what can I create?  It’s all exciting and just on the edge I think of…  I don’t know what, but I can’t help but know it’s going to be great.

And that’s when I realize, all this restlessness is a good thing.  It’s because a lot of awesome things are just ahead.  I just can’t wait to get to it all.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Restlessness

  1. I hope you’re feeling better and are our running again by now! I had to smile at your description of February – it’s been exactly the same over here, on the other side of the big pond. One day, I managed to squeeze in a trail run after work (!) for the first time since the darkest days of winter, and ran right through the most glorious sunset. It defintely felt like spring is in the air. The next day, I did an interval ran in a snowstorm. Oh, the joys of outdoor running!

Leave a Reply

