Halfway to 90, Gaining Momentum

My daughter and I have been participating in this 90 Day Challenge with a group called O2EA.  Basically it’s a weight loss and fitness challenge, elements of the program include participation in fitness camps, personal training sessions, one on one nutritional sessions, etc.  Today is the halfway point.

So we started with taking before pictures – pretty much pictures at every angle, and today we did the halfway pictures.  Not sure I’m all that comfortable yet having pictures taken with my shirt off – I always feel for the people on the Biggest Loser who have to bare themselves so much on national TV for their weigh ins.  And then we do these body scans that give us a pretty good analysis of the fat makeup throughout our bodies.  

So far, I’ve dropped 13.8 pounds and have gone from 42% body fat to 39.4%.  It is a bit sobering to see that be such a high percentage but pretty exciting to see it come down.  BMI has dropped from 39.8 to 38.2.

My daughter’s had some great progress as well.  It’s been fun to be involved together in this and to see her get enthused.  I’m proud of her for getting committed to this and working as hard as she has.

O2EA stands for Overweight 2 Endurance Athlete.  The founder lost quite a bit of weight himself and is now active in triathlons and looks incredible.  They have a lot of clients who have gone through weight loss surgery and are now looking for ways to get more active.  There’s a pretty good community, and I’ve enjoyed being a part of it.

I’m excited about the next 45.

And I even look forward to things like tomorrow’s long run.  7 miles, and it’s GETTING WARM OUT!  Not running the 17 lap per mile indoor track is reason enough to get excited.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Halfway to 90, Gaining Momentum

  1. Sandy says:

    Ron, I’m so impressed that you are continuing with the discipline and the stamina. I really admire your tenacity and know you are going to blow us all away. Most importantly, you are taking care of yourself. What an inspiration you are. I’m thinking you’re going to have to change your tag line soon to “The story of a guy who discovered he really likes running long distances.” My money’s on you running a marathon in the near future.

Leave a Reply

