One of Those Testosterone Filled Guy Things

For American males, few things are more manly than the old football injury angle.  All you gotta do is hobble around a bit, wince, and talk about the old injury and it shows how tough you are.  Or were.  Or something like that.

I’ve talked a bit about my ankle stiffening up after long runs.  I may have figured it out.  Yep…  it’s a football injury thing!  From back in high school days, nonetheless.  

So now that you’re all impressed at what a manly man I was as a kid…  ummmmm…..   well, just don’t tell anyone it happened in a flag football game.  

In gym class

A co-ed gym class.

Hey, it did happen after I intercepted a pass.  That might not mean much to you, but for a kid as uncoordinated as I was, well, that’s a big deal.  So a guy on the other team decided it wasn’t just flag football any more.  I ended up both breaking and spraining my ankle.  Not sure how that’s possible, but that’s what they tell me.  

I didn’t actually play football in high school.  Like almost every kid in a football crazy town I WANTED to, but it didn’t happen.  To be honest I probably never would have made the team.  That’s another thing  you really don’t need to tell anyone, that’s just between you and me.  Which makes it quite fortunate that I don’t have a lot of readers.  But the real story is, my doctor wouldn’t even let me try out.

I was too skinny.

Image

 

Since I’m on this manly theme I figured I’d show off a picture of me in the middle of a workout.  Probably not a picture I’d send with a resume, huh?  But seriously, does THIS look like a guy who was too skinny to play football?  Which is a pretty depressing thought now when you think about it.  But yeah, I was way under weight, so the doc didn’t want me in contact sports.

Who knew that FLAG football was a contact sport?  In gym class.  A. coed. gym. class.

Which by the way, does anyone else ever feel the need to spell gym as g-y-m-n?  I don’t know if it’s because gymn is just one of those things that makes you want to say another word ending in mn?

And none of that really bears much weight on what I’m getting to.  I guess it’s good filler to make it look like I have lots to say.

So anyway I was in Saturday morning at fitness camp – that’s where that nasty picture above came from.  There was a physical therapist there, and we talked a bit about how that’s the one thing that has come up for me after longer runs, that my ankle stiffens up and sometimes swells up, though it’s not really the ankle.  It’s kinda at the top of my foot right in front of the ankle.  So he takes a look at it, does all that twisty turny things asking if it hurts when he rotates the damn foot 180 degrees (another of those things that makes you say the mn word I guess)…  and says that it’s not as flexible as it should be.  He asks if I’ve ever had sprains on it…  I actually have had a couple — and then it dawns on me…

Woohooo!  I get to play the football injury card!  

Anyway, I guess it’s just that it’s right at the joint where it’s acting up, so since it’s not as flexible as the other ankle, after running a long time it just kinda protests some.  It is a bit of a relief, that it’s not something like a stress fracture.  He showed me a few stretches to do, said to work especially on calf stretches, but between that and some ice and tylenol, it doesn’t look like there’s not too much to worry about.

Which means I don’t have an excuse to bail on marathon training.

Gymn.  Or something like that.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

