Eat.. MORE calories?

Here I am about 2 weeks into this 90 day challenge.  I’m following along with some nutritional coaching as well as on working out and such.  So, what I’m trying is maybe a bit controversial, but I’ve read of this approach before and it makes some sense.  As I talked to the guys on the coaching team I estimated I’m eating about 1800 calories a day.  They suggested bumping it up a little.  

Okay, did I hear that right?

My base metabolic rate is about 2300 calories.  That’s if I sit and be a couch potato all day.  I’ve been too good at that in my life, you know?  The idea is that when you go severely lower than your base rate, your metabolism shuts down because essentially your body thinks it’s starving and it cuts back on the energy consumption.  Instead, you want to be closer to your base rate as far as diet, and do things a little differently.  

I figure for 90 days, it will be a good experiment, right?  

It’s a little tougher because the goal is to be right between 2000 and 2100 calories.  That’s a lot different than eat as little as possible.  On top of that, you’re trying to do the calories without getting cheap calories like breads and simple sugars.  Plenty of protein but balanced with good complex carbs (that would be fruits and veggies, good fiber kinda stuff).  So you can’t just wolf down a candybar (or chocolate dipped ice cream cone, unfortunately) to bump up the carbs.  It so far has taken a bit of planning to try to balance out the meals.  Which drives me nuts cuz I’m not a planning kinda guy.  

There’s not a lot of real specifics, more like general guidelines.  Eat lean protein, stay away from food that has a high glycemic load because you’re not wanting to jack up the blood sugar.  In the end, the more natural, the better.  Boxed and pre-prepared stuff is typically not so great, not that that should be much of a shock to anyone.  

I have NOT been killing it on the workout side like I should be.  Other than getting killed on the weekly fitness camp.  Whoa mama.  But even with that, I’m at 7 pounds down so far this month.  Not bad for less than halfway through a month, right on pace for the 45 I had set down for the 90 day period.  So there might be something to this.

Now some of this is also along the lines of getting away from the high carb fueling routine. Through diet and the way you exercise, the theory is you can train your body to utilize more fat during your runs than carbs, cutting back on the need for the gu’s and high sugar stuff.  I’m interested in seeing how that plays out.  Quite honestly, I was very disappointed in how I felt following the higher carb nutritional plan in my training for last September’s half, so I really want to see how this plays out for this spring’s half.  

Kinda excited about kicking the training into high gear for the running.  AND about getting down under 300 pounds soon.  I’ll keep you posted on how it all works for me.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eat.. MORE calories?

  1. It is mind-blowing, isn’t it! Congrats on your loss so far.

Leave a Reply

