To Boldly Go Where No One Thought You Could Go Before

Maybe it’s my age, maybe it’s my being in a Master’s program right now in Geriatrics, or my interest in ministry to senior adults.  Stories like these have always caught my attention.  I was one of those who kept tabs on Diana Nyad as she attempted to be the first person to swim from Cuba to Florida.  It’s one thing that she was trying something that has NEVER been accomplished by anyone before.  It’s the kind of thing you think should be done by someone in the prime of life, right?

Diana Nyad is 64 years old.  And she did it.

I love what she said about it – that she’s fully convinced that she is in the prime of her life.

I used to think of my late teens as the prime of my life.  I used to look back at the days where I could run forever or ride my bike forever as the prime of my life.  The problem with that kind of thinking is, then it all seems downhill from there.

It’s not downhill.

For Diana Nyad, she did go where no one has gone before.  And she did what no one thought could be done.

For me, this point last year, I would not have thought that what I was able to accomplish was possible.  It wasn’t so much what no one else has done, there are people running 100 miles or more, and I’m not even close to that.  But it was what I thought couldn’t be done.

No more of that thinking.  Last year was just the beginning.  I look at what I want to accomplish this year, and I’ll admit there’s a part of me that thinks maybe that’s pushing it a bit too far.  But that’s why I want to do it.  That’s why I will do it.

In the meantime, sit back and enjoy. Ask yourself, what is it you want to do if it’s possible to do.  Listen to what Diana has to say, then tell yourself, if a 64 year old is able to do what no one has been able to do before, maybe…  maybe you can!

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

