A year in the life

It is hard to believe that 2013 is nearly at a close.  I have to look back and say 2013 was a really, really good year.  2014 will be even better, but that’s another post for another time.

I’ll jump in first with the one negative.  I did not lose nearly as much weight as I expected.  The year end total is right around 20 pounds.  Now that’s not a bad number, until you consider I’ve had weight loss surgery AND trained for and completed a half marathon.  There’s a lot of analysis I can put into that, maybe some excuses.  In fact I’ve probably gained about 10 pounds since completing the half, which shows as much as anything how much I slowed down after that was over.  So there are some adjustments I’m making and looking more closely at my nutrition to go along with exercise and training, but again, another post at another time.  But for right now I’ll celebrate because a net loss is still a net loss, I’ll take it.

The most exciting part of the year as far as life in general has been starting work on my Masters in Gerontology.  I’ve been pleasantly surprised how engaged I’ve been in the course work so far.  That tells me I’m on the right track.  Life in general is good.

And the big thing when looking back too is, I COMPLETED A HALF MARATHON!!!  At this point a year ago I’d have told you you were crazy if you were to tell me I would do that.  That concept wasn’t even on the radar for me.  When I did my 5K in April, I alternated running and walking, and just didn’t expect to do nearly the amount of running I did.  Of course that’s been the heart of this blog has been the process of training for this puppy.  Of course, now things have changed enough that like a couple people mentioned, it is probably time to change the tagline on the blog – when I started this whole thing here I was a guy at 350 pounds or so, and that’s the kind of thing where you think, I’ve got no business even thinking of doing this.  I was a bit unsure, not sure if all that pounding the pavement at my weight would wreak havoc on my joints and such.  But dammit I did it, and have felt great all the way through.  

I’ve mentioned this site before, but I’ve tracked my walks, runs, and bike rides at the Virtual race across America site.  I’ve done this for about 3 years now.  At the start of the year I think I was at about 1000 miles.  I’m pushing 1900 now.  In the past it was predominantly walking and bike riding.  I went back and added up what I had entered, and I rode my bike 550 miles, ran 260, and walked 90.  The walking part is down, though a large part of that is where when I’d go for walks in the past that’s been replaced with runs, so I’m good with that.  

It’s been a good year.  Back when I couldn’t get myself to run across a parking lot to get out of the rain there’s no way I would have believed I’d ever be able to do that kind of year.  Especially the running.  260 miles???  

The awesome thing is I expect to shatter that for next year.  But… again, another post for another time.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

