Coming Soon. Well, relatively soon.

I had determined it wouldn’t happen to me.  It did.

I mentioned in the past some of the warnings people have given about the lull that happens after a destination event like finishing a half marathon.  I figured I had a plan and therefore, it wouldn’t happen to me.  

Funny thing about plans.  You have to follow them for them to work.  I know, crazy, huh?

I’m still managing to get out for some runs, once or twice a week.  I went back to Nebraska for a quick trip and managed to throw a run in.  Let me just say, that whole thing about it being easier to run at lower altitude?  Maybe that’s the problem with slacking off on the running, cuz it wasn’t bad, it wasn’t horrible, it was actually pretty good, but…  I didn’t notice it being EASIER.  But that may go with the territory when you go from 20 mile weeks to 4 mile weeks.  

The good thing about driving a long ways is, it gives you time to think a lot.  Right now I’m just running here and there.  Whenever I feel moved, I guess.  In the end, it really has come down to exactly what that warning was all about, it’s like now that I accomplished what I want to accomplish, and without something specific ahead of me to really shoot for, it’s easy to get in that kind of pattern, or lack of pattern.  I’ve been thinking in terms of, I want to do this or that, I think, at least I’ll keep it in mind.  

That doesn’t work.  Wishy washy isn’t much to shoot at, you know?

So, I’ve made a decision.  Two decisions actually.  

First, I’m going for the Colfax Half Marathon in May.  This is where I feel like I’ve got some unfinished business from the Bear Chase Half.  

Then, it’s Marathon time!  The whole 26.2.  I’m going to make it happen.  I have settled on a site.  It’s called the Wabash Trace marathon.  It happens in southwest Iowa in September. I’ll write more on it as time goes by but it just looks like the perfect race for doing a first marathon.  It’s small, last year they had 66 people do the full marathon, 202 ran the half.  After running the Bolder Boulder with 40,000, that seems REALLY small, but something about it just really draws me.  Maybe it’s just that I love that part of the country.  

 

There’s more to it than just picking races.  Building up a training plan is going to be huge…  sticking to it is huger.  Or more huge.  Yeah, it’s important!  More on that.  I have a little less than 10 months to train.  I can do this.  I WILL do this.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coming Soon. Well, relatively soon.

  1. You can do it! I will be cheering for you!

Leave a Reply

