The View From the Other Side of the Face of the Planet

Since it is pretty apparent I’ve fallen off said face of the planet.  

So the story I’ll create to excuse myself is the usual I’ve been incredibly busy blah blah blah, and since my dogs have no concept of daylight savings time I have this extra hour this morning that I can now sit and do a little catchup.  Yeah, that’s it.  I’ll go with that.

I mean, yes, I HAVE been busier than normal.  I just started my first class in my Masters in Gerontology degree program, and being an online class you’re spending a LOT of time discussing topics back and forth with other students.  I suppose the discussion piece really replaces the lecture piece.  So far I like the format though, instead of loading up on a bunch of classes each semester, we do 8 week classes and you can focus on one topic at a time.  So on top of that, there is work and playing taxi driver for every school event my kids want to be in, and sometimes it’s hard to squeeze in time for things.  But that’s not enough, is it?  Oh nooooo…  our upstairs bathroom has to blow itself up (slight… um, heavy exaggeration there) so we’ve had to pretty much tear everything out, strip out the whole floor and are starting that all over again.  And THEN we’ve had vandalism in the neighborhood including having a window busted out on our car, so then it’s making time to clear out the garage to start bringing the car inside at night.  (not that those two projects are DONE by any means….)

But then I made time Saturday last week to get together with some friends at Roxborough, Colorado.  It was one of those perfect fall days.  One of those friends is a nature photographer, and he was showing me how some of the settings on the camera piece of my phone work.  Sometimes I’ve been so discouraged because the pictures always seem so bland compared to how it really looks, so he showed me a few things, and I had fun shooting pictures all over the place.  A lot were really bad, some turned out rather nicely.  I find myself being more enthusiastic now about taking pictures while out on runs.  

ImageImageImage

I really like the last one, the cartoon feature on the camera is pretty cool.  It couldn’t have been a better day or a better time of year for taking these kinds of pictures.  And I’m just pretty amazed at the pictures you can get with a stupid phone, you know?  

But let’s be real here.  When you really want to do something you find a way to do it.  I still watch my football.  I still manage to find time to hang out on Facebook.  I got out and spent time with friends and snapped a butt ton of pictures. If this blog were a priority, then I would have found time or MADE time to keep up on it.  Which then leads me to think…  is this blog not so much a priority any more?

Oh crap.  Introspective soul searching time.  In the words of the Monty Python troupe:  “Run away!  Run away!”

I don’t know that it’s as much the blog not being priority, but maybe not having anything to say?  Not that that’s stopped me before, but the truth is I’m not really great at writing for the sake of writing.  Maybe it does have to do with being busier, not so much being too busy to write because there is always time to sit and write.  Maybe it’s just being so busy that I haven’t had the chance to really process things to where I have something to write.

And…  maybe with this being a blog on running, if I’m not running I don’t have as much to say?

There.  I said it.  My confession.  My running has really fallen off the map.  Which is I suppose the same as falling off the face of the planet.  And since I too have fallen off the face of the planet maybe running and I can find each other again?

I’ll blame my daughter.  Because it’s always easier to blame someone else.  I’ve been planning my running around helping her train for a 5K, so I’ll get up and get ready…  and then she doesn’t get up.  Now I could get her up.  The story I tell myself is that she needs to do this herself though, you know?  She’s 20, she’s not a kid.  

But here’s the problem with the whole blame the daughter thing.  I find myself wondering if I’m a bit glad when she doesn’t get up.  After all, if she doesn’t get up, I don’t go run.  Why should I let that stop me from getting out myself, right?  

I think there’s a piece that when you train for something like a half marathon when you’re not used to doing it, you are pretty dilligent at getting out there and running a lot, but when it’s over, it’s very easy to let back up on the running.  I had that happen after my first 5K, where it slowed down, slowed down…  I don’t want that to happen here.  

Now we did get out and run yesterday.  It felt good.  Good enough that later in the day I was ready to suit up and do another run by myself.  Or maybe I was thinking of doing that to get out of working on the bathroom.  Image

You would think I would have learned from my friend not to have taken a picture in the shade, right?  But it was kind of fun because there would be places like this where I’d run ahead so I could try to catch a picture of my daughter as she runs to follow up.  And I actually felt good running ahead.  

So for me, the key right now is to let myself run again.  After yesterday’s run, I feel myself wanting it more than feeling like I have to.  Maybe for running with my daughter, we have to shoot for end of the day instead of start of the day.  She’s a late night person, I’m an early morning person (and if the me from 30 years ago were dead that me from 30 years ago would be rolling over in my grave at that revelation), so expecting her to get up at 5:30 so we can run may not be productive.  And the truth is that running early also came from the fact I was training in summer and it just makes more sense then.  It’s November.  It’s not exactly summer any more, is it?  And really probably what I need to do is do my own runs at my own pace and then add in the runs with my daughter for her C25K program.  

And who knows?  If I do that maybe I’ll still have some things to say from time to time.  I wouldn’t mind climbing back onto the face of the planet again.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

