Transitions

It has been an interesting thing to see the change in what a difference there is in the day to day since the half marathon has come and gone.  Life just seems…  different.

Or maybe life is back to normal a little?  

For nearly 4 months everything seemed to revolve around THE RACE.  It’s been good to have focus, but at the same time one has to be careful to set boundaries.  I suppose the difference can be seen even in this blog because for awhile it was nearly every day that I posted something.  Then all of a sudden…  what, a couple times a week?  I suppose some of it is that this blog has been all about getting ready for the race, and so maybe not as much is compelling me to post.  

I’ve started transitioning into working on my speed, moving back to a simpler 5k training format.  It’s definitely less time consuming, but in some ways that sort of leaves me wondering what to do with my time.  I don’t know, it’s almost like a sort of lost feeling.  I think it’s a feeling I expected to have after the race was done because you’ve invested so much time and focus on this one event and then it is over, and what do you do with that time and focus now?  

Alongside transitioning my training though, one thing I’m going to be doing is transitioning sort of into coaching.  I finally settled on the next race, the Christmas Carol Classic on December 21.  It looks like a pretty cool race, they’ve done it for 20 some years now so it’s a kind of tradition around here, but they start off with a serenade by professional Christmas Carolers in full costume, then do the race, and of course on to wonderful things like hot chocolate.  I can see how something like that gets to be a Christmas tradition for a lot of people.  So it will probably be a family kind of thing for us.  Part of the reason we chose that race is that my stepdaughter and stepson go to school out of town and one or both might not be back by the earlier runs, so this one looked good.  And this is where a bit of coaching may come in to play as I’ll help my daughter train.  A year and a half ago we did a little 5k together, we kind of ran/walked it, and it was good, but I don’t think we trained nearly as well for it as we could have.  I think I know a bit more now too about what to advise about running form and breathing and such.  So we’ll see how that transition goes.

I suppose in following the theme of transitioning, I may be shifting a bit in personal life.  Three years ago I enrolled for my first course at Denver Seminary.  It’s been on a very very part time basis.  I’ve gotten about a half of the way through my master’s degree…  and I ended up applying somewhere for a totally different degree program.  My goal is to work with senior adults, possibly in a ministry setting, and while seminary education is good for the ministry setting, they really have nothing at all for the senior adult portion of the equation.  So I decided to apply at another college for their masters in gerontology program.  The interesting thing is that this program requires about as many hours to complete as I have left in my current program, so I’m not slowing myself down, and when I’m done there are a lot more options available to me.  And it doesn’t hurt that tuition is better.  In some ways it almost feels like I wasted my 3 years of very part time education, though I do believe there will be a lot of value in that.  And I haven’t begun to look yet into whether any of my credits will transfer.  I’m a little antsy because I have everything submitted and I’m just waiting.  If all goes well I could get started in the next round of classes the end of this month.  

So in some ways it feels like everything is changing.  I think it’s all for the better, but because it is all change and all different, it just feels…  different.  Profound, huh?  It’s all good stuff I believe.  Change is good, but takes getting used to, doesn’t it?

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

