This Was NOT a Good Night to Have Homecoming

I mean seriously, who schedules homecoming on the night before my race anyway???  I am so ready to crawl into bed so I can toss and turn and not really sleep because of tomorrow’s race, but nooooooo, I have to wait up so I can pick up my daughters after homecoming.  

And of course, the problem only gets worse because of things like this…

Image

The picture doesn’t really do justice, but this is my youngest, a freshman, and…  well being the dad type and all, one has to draw the line and say no, you’re not going unless there’s no boys there.  I’m sooooooo not ready for the whole boy thing.

So, instead of crawling into bed where being in bed does absolutely no good at all because I’m wound up so tight that I’m doing stuff like posting on this blog left and right…  I get to sit up and wait to go pick the girls up.  Good news is I get to take time and download songs to run to.  I love Rhapsody.  It’s a weird mix of songs, from Thunderstruck to Sultans of Swing to some 80’s Christian music.  And of course I have to listen to it as I’m downloading.  I have to remember my wife isn’t quite the Lynrd Skynrd fan that I am.  Okay, she’s not at a fan of them at all.  Which I don’t get.  But she puts up with me, so that’s a good thing.  Maybe if I’d met her when we were both a lot younger and got her to a DeGarmo & Key concert while she was still impressionable I could have helped her better appreciate good music.  

And you’re saying, De-Who?  Trust me, they put on a pretty incredible concert.  

Okay, so I’ve passed enough time, it’s about 10:30.  That leaves me enough time to stop at the store on the way and pick up a couple Neutron Bombs (that’s what Andrew, our coach, calls Snickers bars) for the race and then pick up the girls, threaten any boys who might be close.

I sure hope they aren’t ready to start all this dating garbage.  I might have to buy a gun just so I can be sitting there cleaning it when the boys come by to pick them up.  Not that I’d know how, but if they don’t know that I don’t know….

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

