Final Preparations

Upstairs, my daughter is getting dressed up for her first ever homecoming at high school.  Her sister is helping her do her hair, she’s primping and preening, all that stuff that teenage girls do.

Down here in what my wife calls my man cave, I think I’m almost as bad.  Do I wear my Orange and White Bolder Boulder shirt?  Or maybe just a basic red one.  I never did get one made up that says Will Run For Bacon.

Image

Do I do the headband or the bandana?

Or the real question:  We’ve got two water crossings in this run.  Okay, actually one water crossing but we cross it twice.  I’ve got some good Drymax socks…  do I just run through and trust it will all dry up soon enough (and smather my feet with vasolene ahead of time as a precaution) or do I do as one person suggested and stop, pull the socks and shoes, run through, and put them on again?  Right now I’m leaning towards just running through.

This is a picture the Bear Chase posted on their facebook page of the water crossing.

This is a picture the Bear Chase posted on their facebook page of the water crossing.

See what I mean about being as bad as the girls?

Some of the advice I got was, get plenty of sleep Friday because you might not sleep much Saturday.  I am NOT a guy who stresses about things like what to wear, and yet here I am, which is a definite indication of being a bit psyched up about this race.  (A bit you say?  obsessive maybe?).

Factor in that I’ve gotta go pick my girls up from their homecoming at 11, and really need to be at the race site at about 5:30 or so, ummm…  yeah, no 8 hours tonight.  Good news is I did sleep pretty well last night.  I even went back to my bed and my back didn’t bother me as much.

So now…  it’s just deciding what songs to download for the final final preparations.  That and probably changing my mind a dozen times about what shirt to wear.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Final Preparations

  1. Reva says:

    Good luck tomorrow. For what it’s worth, I’m happy for you for getting out there. That’s a victory in itself, and not one many people ever claim. Way to go, in advance.

Leave a Reply

