Zombie Walkin on a Sunday Afternoon

The good news is the rain held off this morning.  So, we got to do our long run.

The bad news is we moved it back to Ward hill.  I’m pretty sure that the idea was that because it’s one of the biggest hills in the area, the worst case scenario is maybe we could wave down the ark and catch a ride.  It’s a 4 mile loop with two really nasty hills, and we were doing a 10 mile run. So the way we had it set up, we ended up with 5 good long steep hill climbs.

We had to run this bugger again.  I should have taken a picture from closer to the base, then maybe you'd have a better idea of how intimidating this thing is.

We had to run this bugger again. I should have taken a picture from closer to the base, then maybe you’d have a better idea of how intimidating this thing is.

The run was supposed to be 11 today, but our coach decided that with the hills (did I mention there were FIVE such climbs?) and the weather, ten would be a real good workout for a final long run.  The whole run I was thinking maybe I should tack one more on.  After that last hill which was RIGHT about at the end of the run I thought, who am I to argue with the coach?

I was satisfied with being able to run the 10.  It was slow, but I’ve said that enough before I’m not too worried about having shocked you terribly with that comment.  But the key is, I did it, and I did it on a course that didn’t make it easy.

I was worried about my back affecting being able to run well.  I personally want to thank whoever invented heatwraps.  Wow.  I’m sure there’s a good explanation of how those dumb things work but I’m convinced there’s some kind of voodoo in those things.

After driving home…  I am thinking that allowed enough time for rigor mortis to set in for both my wife and I.  We were both rather stiff legged, we called the walk from the car to the house our zombie walk.  It wasn’t pretty.

Of course my daughter wants me to go with her to look for a new laptop.  Zombie walking is one thing in the privacy of your own home.  Trying to clomp along through a big electronics store, different story.  Let me just say, if you’ve ever been to a MicroCenter, oh my…  geek heaven.  Unless you’re zombie walking.  Besides, there’s a football game to get home to.

And here I sit, barely paying attention to football while typing away at this, and at this I leave you with a couple of last observations.  1.  Blue Moon is a fantastic recovery drink.  2.  Heatwraps are expensive but the good thing about vegging out in front of the TV is the availability of outlets which means a heating pad is the next best thing.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

