Maybe I Can Put a Running Track in the Ark

A few days ago I posted about a dilemma I was having about an invitation to run a charity 5K for an organization a friend worked for.  The timing of it just really didn’t work out great because of this week’s 11 mile training run.  I got some great advice on that by the way, great suggestion to volunteer instead.  So I liked that better than what seemed almost like a choice between the 5K and my training run.  

Turns out there was nothing to worry about.  For all I know it could be neither.

The 5K was going to be in Greeley, Colorado.  If you happened to see the news footage where they especially love to show the picture of the mobile home park with all the mobile homes shoved together by the flooding…   that, my friends, is Greeley Colorado.  As you can imagine, the race got cancelled.  

I have a bit of a beef with the media.  That mobile home shot of course is gold to the news channels because it looks so sensational.  I have yet to hear them mention that oh, by the way, that’s pretty much a junk yard for old mobile homes and no one lived there.  That would take a bit away from the sensationalism.

But then again, the flooding is sensational enough on its own.  The pictures I’m seeing in Big Thompson Canyon coming out of Estes Park that show the highway literally washed away remind me of 37 years ago when a giant wall of water wiped out the canyon and took about 200 lives.  I don’t think the force of the flooding was nearly as bad this time as it was back then and fortunately the loss of life wasn’t nearly like it was then, maybe because we have better systems in place for predicting what’s going to happen and getting people out of there, I don’t know. 

Anyway, our 11 mile run was scheduled to be at a place called Waterton Canyon, which runs along the Platte River.  There are supposed to be heavy rains tonight and a high possibility of flooding along the Platte.  So at this point, the run has been rescheduled to be at higher ground away from lakes and rivers, but has a possibility of being called off if the rains are really heavy.  According to the email I just got, the rule of thumb is, if it’s Portland style rain, we run, if it’s Vietnam style rain, we stay home.  

So far so good though for us.  We live on pretty high ground.  There are a couple of great riverside trails that run close to our house, about 2 miles in two different directions, but I always hated the climb coming out of those trails (though granted, they make great hill workouts when running).  If we end up in a sort of worse case scenario, I’m thinking I’ll be pretty thankful for those climbs.  Right now most of Denver is in good shape, though there is some pretty bad flooding today in some of the eastern suburbs.  

I think what makes this all seem so surreal is, for me it doesn’t seem like an unusual kind of rain at all.  Back in Nebraska where I grew up, it’s not uncommon to have several days of mostly rain.  The rains here for the most part have not been that heavy, just steady, and in this desert kind of climate where there’s not all this rich topsoil to soak it all up, it’s different here.  

Here’s praying things don’t turn dramatically worse overnight as the next round of showers come in.  

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maybe I Can Put a Running Track in the Ark

  1. Hope you guys continue to stay safe from the rains. I have cousins who live in Aurora, and their basement flooded with the first wave of storms. The photos they’re posting on Facebook are scary…so much water in a place that can’t really handle it! We get epic rains like that down here in North Texas every once in a while but it floods in the low places, not anywhere close to where my husband and I live.

    Stay safe!

  2. Thank you. We have been fortunate not to be affected. I think it’s just that we don’t have the kind of soil to soak up the rains so it runs off, and then you add the runoff from the mountains. What is going to be really difficult for a lot of people here is that they don’t have flood insurance because some of this is happening in places you would not call flood plains.

Leave a Reply

