Title??? We don’ need no stinkin’ Title!!!

In other words, I really don’t know what I’m writing about today.

I’m not even sure whether to write, though at least at this moment, I’m doing so.  Whether I finish out or post it, that’s anyone’s guess at this moment.  I suppose if you’re reading this, then it’s no longer a guess, is it?

I’m a bit more reserved this morning because of all of the reports of flooding around here.  Now, I’m very quick to point out that because I’m in Colorado does not mean that I’m watching the waters rise up to me and wishing I’d started on that stupid ark a long time ago.  Across the nation there are pictures of cars and houses under water and roads being swept away, and sometimes you see that and think it’s happening everywhere.  Same thing I suppose of the fires when they’ve happened.

Having said that, it’s still very sobering when it’s happening to places you know well.  When you see these tiny little creeks it’s hard to imagine them potentially wiping out whole towns.  It’s hard to think of people losing their homes.  It’s harder to think of those things that are reminders of peoples’ most precious memories being destroyed.  And so when you see it happening closely enough to you, it’s…   sobering.

I’m fortunate, my home is on pretty high ground — something I complain about when I have to ride my bike up out of the riverside bike trails.  Thinking I might not complain so much next time.  Actually, even the rivers in my area of town aren’t quite so high, the worst of it all is north of us.  I just heard that the park where we just finished our 9 mile run and where we will be doing the half marathon in a couple weeks has some flooding going on, I guess some of the parking lots are under water.  It’s pretty minor compared to some areas.

I did get out running this morning, it was a nice run, a pretty steady drizzle or rain the whole time.  In all this time it’s the first time my run has really taken place in the rain like this.  Not really surprising as Colorado is technically high desert.  My biggest complaint about running in the rain?  It doesn’t work so well if you are wearing glasses.  I need windshield wipers!

It was a bit of a challenging run in some ways, I’m getting a little concerned because of some lower back pain.  It’s the kind where if you shift just right it hurts like heck.  I didn’t run yesterday morning because of it, this morning it was a bit better and didn’t really bother me.  I don’t know if it’s my bed?  Just because I’ve had it happen before when it’s seemed like a pretty crappy bed was the cause (us big guys are terrible on beds!).  But this is a fairly new bed, I don’t even think it’s a year old, it’s memory foam which, may or may not be related?  I don’t know, I’m doing some stretches, lots of Tylenol, staying out of shoes (in case it’s the shoes’ fault), thinking of moving my monitor up on a shelf at my desk and standing some because sometimes sitting for a bit aggravates it.  I hope it doesn’t mess up Sunday’s run, I’m a little nervous about that.  If it’s not getting better I might check in with the doctor on Monday.  That’s something I usually just don’t do, I give it more time to just get through it – which it usually just passes – but I don’t want this to mess up being able to run in 2 weeks.

See why there’s no title?  Just some rambling.  In the meantime, just keeping people affected by the floods in my prayers.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

