Can We Just Call it Good at 9?

Nine miles.  Nine stinking miles.

Miles 1-3, I’m thinking this isn’t so bad.  I’m ahead of the walkers.

Miles 4-6, I get passed by some of the walkers, but still not too bad, and that was after knocking out some killer hills.

Miles 7, 8 and about .99 of mile 9 I’m thinking, what am I doing out here?

Mile 9, it’s…   bring on 13!

My favorite part of the run though was coming up on this sign:

ImageI

I was just waiting for a cop to be waiting around the corner to give out tickets.  Not sure his radar could go that low though, you know?

We were back out at Bear Creek Reservoir where we’ll be running the half in just 3 more weeks.  It is a beautiful location, though it’s got some NASTY hills and there’s very very little shade.  I sure hope it’s a lot cooler out in 3 weeks than it was today.  Did I mention the nasty hills?  One was a 190 foot climb over 7/10 of a mile, the other about 150 over a half mile.  Now you can understand the ‘what am I doing out here?’Image

From the top of one of the hills I snapped this picture.  Kinda right in the middle of the big foothill off in the distance is Red Rocks Amphitheater.  That’s right, I know, right now you’re thinking U2…  no blood red sky unfortunately.  Anyway, see all those trees down there in the valley?  I think we ran everywhere those trees were not.

I’m pretty sure there were vultures perched along the trail.  Thinking they were all pretty disappointed I made it.

My splits were pretty indicative.  First few miles I was pretty happy with the pace.  Then came the first of the big hills, that shot my average pace all to heck.  You could look at my splits and see me running out of gas along the way, each mile increasing in time by about 15 to 20 seconds.  And I did have a couple points where I took about 100 yard walk breaks.  So while I wasn’t totally thrilled with the fact I didn’t totally run ALL the way, I still felt really good.

Great thing about doing a long run like that:  Perfect time to go weigh in.  My wife and I have figured out that the best place to go after a run like that is to the Y, swim for a bit, hang out in the hot tub for a bit…  only the pool and hot tub were down for maintenance.  Nice thing there’s other Y’s in Denver, problem is the one we went to didn’t have a hot tub.  It DID however have a steam room.  Which felt kinda nice sitting in there for a bit, though it dawned on me that here I was hating the fact I was baking in the middle of the canyon while running, so what do I do?  Goofy huh?  But that’s okay, it’s all worth it because the scale at the Y is my new best friend.  Under 320!  317.5!!!!  Okay, yes it’s after a long run, though I did drink a LOT of water after the run, but my weigh in a couple weeks ago was also after a long run, so I think I can reasonably claime about a 5 pound weight loss.  I’ll take it.

So, all in all a good day, a good run.  Now I think I’ll get up and do a zombie walk to the TV to watch some football.  Or maybe go to bed.  Oh man, back to that choice again?

Love a duck.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can We Just Call it Good at 9?

  1. Did it eat my comment? I hope it didn’t eat my comment.

    I think I”m getting the wrong thing from this because I’m mostly enjoying the lovely scenery in your photos. The 10 MPH made me laugh. 🙂

    Good luck with the run!

    • I know, I rounded the corner and saw that sign and cracked up thinking, you’re kidding, right? I really enjoy running there because it is beautiful especially once you get to the top of the hills. I keep thinking I should take more pictures but I’m so slow as it is, it would take forever!

Leave a Reply

