Angst and Life and Perspective and…

I do have to admit that when I look through the struggles and crises I go on about, I’m really pretty fortunate.  I see the real crap that people have to go through in their lives and then I look at what I complain about and I start to think, shut up you fool.  Today’s crisis is definitely one of those.  

Yesterday’s post had the most views of any yet on this blog.  This is not necessarily saying much, but still, there are times when getting even one or two people reading my blog is quite a shot in the arm.  I didn’t think there was anything terribly fascinating about the post, though maybe it was a bit misleading.  The title and opening comments made it look like some kind of deeply introspective, very personal kind of thing, and, ummm…  well it probably wasn’t so deep after all, was it?  So I wonder if people saw the title and thought oh wow, it doesn’t look like more blah blah blah blah me and running blah blah.  And guess what they got?  So much for encouraging return readership.  

Even the stuff that is more challenging in life, I guess I try to lighten it with humor.  Maybe that’s to make it easier to get through, and maybe that’s because I realize that even the worst that I have to face is nothing compared to what other people are going through.  It’s not that life doesn’t get challenging, and not as though Iife has never gotten just downright ugly at times.  But…  I see what some folks have to endure and some of their challenges and especially the way they pull through those challenges, some that I’ve seen in some of the blogs I’ve started reading since this time, and….  huh, here I am lost for words.  

Being lost for words isn’t a great thing for a blogger.  But you know, you look at things people go through and really, what can you say?  And I grumble about giving up football so I can get up in the morning and some of you have to just think…  really?  Sometimes we see things happen to others or what others have fought through and some of those things we think of problems seem really, really petty all of a sudden.  

Funny.  When I started writing all this I was going a completely, totally different direction.  I was going to talk about reading something about how those little things we do or don’t do add up over a long period of time both for positive and negative, and was ready to do some light hearted thing about adding up all the calories of all the dipped ice cream cones I’ve had, and get into whether it’s time to think about cutting those out.  THAT was my existential angst.  Good grief, talk about your first world problems.  

I think in the end though, what I’m left thinking is, life is good.  That’s not meant as a ‘my life doesn’t suck nearly as much as someone else’s so therefore my life is good,’ kinda thing.  I’ve been through some real struggles at times.  I’m sure there will be more.  The worst of what I’ve been through have been my own doing and they don’t come close to what some of you have faced or are facing now.  Life has its challenges, at times it just downright stinks.  And yet through it all, life goes on and along the way we get those reminders of just how good it is.  Maybe it’s laughter when reading someone’s blog.  Maybe it’s a sunrise or sunset.  Maybe it’s just feeling really really good after a run.  Maybe it’s the love of another person.  I’ll joke about trivial little complaints and all that, but in the end I just find myself very very thankful for everything that is good in life.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Angst and Life and Perspective and…

  1. babushkablue says:

    Well, you inspire ME, a total stranger. That counts for something! For me, just like you, I get the reminders that life is really good. Thing is, it’s possible to miss those reminders by not paying attention. You’re paying attention: an excellent plan!

Leave a Reply

