I’m Still Standing

Cue up the Elton John Music.  And while he’s singing away, time for the Snoopy Dance!

The Snoopy Dance, courtesy of Peanuts.com

The 8 Miler is in the books and I did it.

I wasn’t sure going into this one.  I was apprehensive for a lot of reasons.  We did this route before a few weeks ago, for the 4 mile loop, and while I completed it I was disappointed because I walked more than I wanted to.  Last week I was tanking at about mile 6, and this route had a monster hill after mile 6 and I wondered if that would just do me in.  Then having my last run cut waaaaaaaaaay short because my leg was cramping up, I wasn’t sure what to expect.

But I pulled this puppy off.  And there are 4 hills that are just nasty (or two hills that we had to run twice).  The fact I could keep running the mile and a half or so after the last one pleases me to no end.

Kinda tickles me really.

Woohoo!

You can see the hills on this one:

Ward Hill RunThe first one is 100 feet over about a half mile, the second one that looks like Chimney Rock on the elevation chart is about 80 feet over less than a quarter mile.

I think our trainer is a bit sadistic.  But don’t tell him I said that.

We won’t talk about time.  I do have to ask myself why I’m set on running when walkers are going faster than me.  But this time, for me it’s not about the time as much as it is getting it done.

Next week, we scale back to a 5 mile run.  On a flat course.  It wasn’t that long ago that 5 miles seemed unreachable, now it just seems easy.

This running thing can be addictive at times, can’t it?

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Still Standing

    • Thank you. At mile 5 I felt great but knew I had that last hill and was debating how much I’d be walking, so to be on the other side of that run without walking is pretty exciting.

Leave a Reply

