The First Step is Always the Hardest

You would think that wouldn’t be the case.  You are fresh, you have all that energy, you haven’t worn yourself down yet.  Starting should be easier than finishing, right?  Isn’t it amazing how sometimes even after having run several miles, that next step seems easier than the very first step ever felt?

This is the picture my daughter Emily drew for me for my birthday.

This is the picture my daughter Emily drew for me for my birthday.

I really didn’t feel like running this morning.

I have my usual morning routine where the dogs wake me about 5, so I go upstairs and let them out, make some coffee, have some breakfast, read a little bit to let the breakfast settle in, then do my morning run if it’s a run day.

Yesterday was a run day.  I finally look at the clock after reading a bit and it’s 6:45.  No way I’m getting a run in and getting to work on time. Now last night when I got home it was actually pretty cool out, great for a run, but did it enter my mind to go run?  Actually, it did.  But it didn’t go anywhere from there.  But I sure had time to make an awesome pizza for the family.

I could maybe blame it on missing my wife.  She and her daughter went down to visit her other daughter for a few days, and I do find myself feeling a little more blah when she’s gone.  Or maybe that’s a convenient excuse and my natural laziness is kicking in, I don’t know.  Today is a cross train day (or a backup run day in the event something like yesterday happens, meaning it’s a run day).  So the dogs wake me up — they’re like clockwork that way.  I think I should rename them Foghorn and Leghorn.  And I sit and read through some blogs, and then the thought hits me I should get running.

But there’s a fascinating news story about this bridge being completed ahead of schedule.  You know, one of those must-read things.  I know, you’re all begging for the link.  It makes me miss the small town papers where we know all about who had visitors and who was seen at the grocery store last week.

Maybe this is a sign of progress because in the past, once I’ve missed one day it’s easier to run the next, and I was really really comfortable out on the patio chair.  But I know that when I missed a couple runs a few weeks back, I was MISeraBULL when I finally got out to run again, I could really feel the fact that I’ve missed my runs.  K, I have to run.

And I do my 5 minute warm-up walk.  And another few seconds.  You know, I haven’t run since Sunday so I better make it 6 minutes.  You know, to be safe.  Maybe I should…  love a duck, I better get going huh?

Thud thud thud.  Those first steps were awful.  Every part of my body just seemed to jolt and lurch with each thud.  I KNEW this was a bad idea.  I really need to go home now.  For being amazed at how smoothly running has started to feel, this was just dreadful.  Did I forget how to run in 3 days???  A few steps later, it’s feeling better.  And a little better…  After awhile it just seems natural again.  I run a lap around this pond at a nearby park, then run a lap around the park itself (NEVER thought I’d ever say that so casually), and I feel pretty good.  I got my two miles in, rather slow this time around but it felt good, and as I cross the spot where I know to begin walking again so I can have a 5 minute cool down by the time I get home, walking just feels so unnatural, I really should just keep running, that feels better.

Where was that feeling 30 minutes ago???

Truth is, I still don’t feel like running now that I sit and think about it.  Tomorrow may be just as much a struggle, I don’t know.  But I’m glad I got out today.  The picture above that my daughter drew for me really does say it all.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The First Step is Always the Hardest

  1. I like this picture…this post is very motivating! I have one training down 23 to go for my lil 5k!

Leave a Reply

