Has it really been 7 weeks?

Seven of the 15 weeks in this training program are gone.  Done.  Fini.  Gjort (had to throw a Swedish word in there, didn’t I?)!

So I guess I could call this my halfway there reflection post.

This week was our first of two scale-back weeks.  We went from a long run of 5 miles last week to 3.5 this week.  We ran the same route 3 weeks ago, and I have to say it just felt so much easier and so much smoother this time around.  I took about 2 minutes off my time, so that too was encouraging.

And maybe an even bigger milestone:  I’m committed.  My wife and I got registered for the Bear Chase half marathon.  So we have to do it now, don’t wan’t to get a big fat DNS on our record, do we?

One thing stands out about the past few weeks as I think about them:  My thinking on goals for this has fluctuated a LOT.  When I first started, I had one goal.  I wanted to finish.  The more I looked into this (don’t tell anyone:  I just now looked into it, but it sounds better to say the more I looked into it) the more feasible that goal became because it doesn’t look like there’s a risk of being swept as there are a bunch of longer races going on also.  But then, the more I looked into this even more (meaning a second look at the website) I notice that the half and the 10K are running on a different day than the longer races, sooooo…..   maybe there IS a risk of being swept.

I don’t have much doubt about being able to finish because I know that I can walk it, I feel like I could walk it today if I needed.  The biggest implication of this one goal is, do not get injured, whatever I do.  Right now as well as training is going, I think an injury that would sideline me would be devastating.  My wife has had to sit out this last week and the week to come because of a torn meniscus in her knee.  Staying off her feet is not something she does too well.  I fear it could be something that I do far too well, making it harder to get back on them afterwards.  But I’ve found myself nearly obsessive over form and over getting the right shoes and all that for that very reason (ya think?).

I’ve been pleased with how I’ve felt after long runs.  After my 5K’s in the past, I’d commented that rigor mortis had set in.  My legs and ankles would get so stiff I’d be useless.  I do know that as I’ve run if I found muscles tightening up I’d let up on the pace a bit, so I’m being extremely cautious about not overdoing it.  So far the only thing I’ve felt much is a couple of times my right ankle stiffens up slightly after a run.  I busted that up in high school and had some nasty turns with it in the past, so I do think it’s more sensitive even today, but I did notice it giving me a lot more fits after going up and down the ladder at work than it has yet after a run.  That is probably the one thing I have to monitor most closely.

As training progressed, I debated whether to run the whole thing or just focus on run walk for the sake of said goal #1.  I’ve found the running to get better and better and feel smoother and smoother all the time, so that has morphed into goal #2.  Run the whole course (with allowances of course for aid station and facility stops as needed).

Now, as my speed has been inching up just a bit over time, I started thinking about setting a time goal.  I’ve wondered if 3 hours was reasonable.  That’s about the pace I run now for 2 mile runs, that might be a bit too aggressive for 13 miles.  And here’s the thing, as a first timer pushing myself on pace could leave me vulnerable to injury (goodbye goal #1) or push me beyond my endurance limits forcing me to walk (goodbye #2).

So I think I’ll put myself on  a 2 goal limit for this race.  I can leave the time goal for the next race.

And that, I think, is the biggest and best commentary for me so far at this point of the training.  That’s a pretty powerful indication how well it’s going that I’m thinking in terms of next race (as opposed to never freaking again).

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Has it really been 7 weeks?

  1. Erecca Witt says:

    You are doing fantastic! Have you tried KT Tape for your ankle? I have had issues with mine the past also and the KT Tape really helps. Also, this sounds weird, but doing yoga for an hour each week has helped. My trainer said it helps move everything back into alignment. It might be worth a try. I don’t do all the meditating and spiritual aspect of it, although I am sure that could be beneficial mentally, I just do the movements and I find I am able to run longer and my pace has dropped by two minutes. Good Luck with whatever you decide to do!

  2. Krissy says:

    As Erica mentioned, KT tape might be super helpful. I have been using it on my injury. Fat Pad Impingement and Patellar Tendonitis in my left knee. I too am training for my first half marathon. Well technically, I was supposed to start August 1st, but because of my Injury, I probably can’t start until the middle of September. That leaves a super fast paced training, which might make matters worse!

    Never thought I’d have an actual runners injury!

  3. This is so inspirational. Even the fact that you are running a race like this is amazing! Your whole training program is amazing!! A big part of why I want to have this surgery is because I miss being active, and you represent a light at the end of the tunnel for me. Keep it up! I have a feeling that you will surprise even yourself at the end of the race!

    • Thank you. I’m humbled and encouraged by you saying that. My natural reaction when someone says something like that is think it’s not a big deal. I think it’s because I’ve spent more than enough time in my own tunnels, I’ve always been the one following someone else’s light out. I find myself taken back when something like that is said because I have a hard time thinking I ever COULD be a light for anyone. Life in the tunnel does that to you. So you saying that…. it was like wow, have I really come that far? Because believe me, I still see way too much extra crap hanging on to this body and it doesn’t come off nearly fast enough for me, it’s so easy to think I’m getting nowhere when the journey is this long and this slow. So the truth is, you saying what you said inspired me right now when I really needed it. Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

