Who Are These People?

As my wife is reading through my blog, she’s noticing something:  I’m getting comments!  She looks at me and asks, do I know these people?  With maybe one or two exceptions, I’m like, nope.  Never met em.

Isn’t that cool?!?!

I started this blog mostly for myself when I started the half marathon training.  In our class notebook we’ve got a sheet we can use for a training journal, and I’m thinking, ohhhh, I’ll just do it on a blog instead.  It’s easier for me to look back at, and if anyone ends up following along, bonus!

Of course it hasn’t really been a real true training journal.  Or at least heavy on the journal part but not so much on the TRAINING journal part, in that I’m not really recording my workouts with great consistency.  This is more about how I’m feeling, what kind of things go through my head, what frustrates me, what feels victorious, all that good stuff.

I’ve done this before, sort of.  I have another blog that I don’t update nearly as often, I started it quite awhile back related to my weight loss journey, especially when going through weight loss surgery.  Surgeries, I should say.  Putting the lapband in.  Taking it out.  Getting the sleeve surgery.  My stomach is a veritable frecklefield of little surgery scars.  Which is neither here nor there.  But then you should know by now that neither here nor there is the norm for me.

That is one major problem though with that neither here nor there stuff:  When you get done with it all you have to stop and try to figure out where the here and there was rather than the neither here nor there.  That’s my way of saying, where was I?

Ahhh yes, back to my other blog.  193at5420.blogspot.com.  (I think wordpress will let me link to a blogger blog site anyway).  A little less than 3 years ago I started training for my first 5K using the couch to 5K program and I blogged about it some on that site.  In some ways I may always see that 5K as being even more monumental for me to have been able to run all the way through than even the half marathon will.  I think that’s because it was closer to a time where it just never seemed possible, you know?  And I blogged some about it.  And I ran all the way, and it was awesome.  If you want a great race in Denver in April, you gotta do the Cherry Creek Sneak.

Then the next year, I walked the same 5K.  Lots of stuff involved there.  I’d also signed up for the Bolder Boulder 10K and started training for it.  Kinda.  Sorta.  And I walked it. This year, I got myself more in gear, and did 3 minute run / 2 minute walk splits and felt pretty good.  But the one thing I would say is, training was kind of sporadic.

I’m noticing something very different as I do the half marathon training.  All of my training in the past felt fairly individual.  My wife and I would go run together off and on, though I know I was slowing her down a lot.  But this time around, between the class and the blogging, there is an incredible sense of community that is very motivating.  Which is kind of funny, isn’t it?  For running being such an individual sport it’s amazing how much difference that sense of community makes.

It definitely helps being part of this class, and going out as a group to do these runs.  That does open my eyes to the value of running clubs, it’s something I definitely want to keep in mind for future running after the class is over.

On top of that, even within the blogosphere I’m noticing more of a sense of community than ever before.  Now part of it I’m sure has to do with going around more often looking for blogs about similar subjects.  That’s one thing I like about WordPress, I think it’s better suited at that kind of thing.  And I’m going out commenting on blogs of complete strangers (which seems so unlike me, but I’m finding that I’m enjoying it — there’s always a temptation to start out with “you don’t know me, but…” and usually I catch myself because truth is, they really don’t need me to tell them they don’t know me because they’re already looking at my comment and thinking, “I don’t know him”).

So it’s pretty cool to see the interaction.  There’s something fun about cheering someone on, and something really fun about being cheered on.  Some of you who read this, you know me (and you manage to read this anyway?  Thank you.), and there are those of you who have no clue who I am, who after reading my ramblings and dealing with my neither here nor there’s, seem to still read.  And I really don’t know you, some I’ve gotten a glimpse of through your own blogs, but you could pass me by in a race some day (and the odds are really really good you would be the one doing the passing) and I would have no idea who you are.  But that’s okay.  It’s a huge honor that you continue to read anything I’ve written, especially at this point where it could be so easy to get bored and move on.  And I’m really, really looking forward to all the future interactions.

What it seems to me so far, it seems like the answer to who all these people are out in this community….  just seems to be a pretty awesome group of people.  It’s pretty cool being in the midst of it, even if only by my occaisional contributions to this blog.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Who Are These People?

  1. I am so glad that you commented on my blog–you can tell your wife that you have someone else you don’t know and never met who is cheering you on from the other side of the country!! What an inspiration you are. To me you represent the other side of WLS and what CAN be. I just know that you will meet this challenge, and many others!

  2. It definitely is a great thing to know there’s a community out there of people to celebrate your triumphs along with you and can understand where you’re coming from. I was hesitant to go to online support groups because of that fact “I don’t know those people!” But then again, who do you really know? Offline or not! Haha. Support is support in whatever form. So keep writing, it’s good for the soul 🙂

Leave a Reply

