Like (soul sucking mind numbing) Night and Day

Got my Friday morning run in, it. was. awesome.

Never thought I’d say that about a run.  This scares me.

It also helps to have a change in perspective.  My post last night was short and to the point, which is a rare thing for me.  So of course I have to elaborate.  I can’t leave it at short and sweet now, can I?

Thursday nights for my kids and I is Tae Kwon Do night at the Y.  I’m glad no one takes pictures.  It’s not a pretty thing.  But it is a good workout.  I mean, a really good workout.  Which has nothing to do with anything really (see what I mean about not leaving it at short and sweet?) other than, when we were done I was thinking okay, I didn’t get up early enough in the morning to get my 2 miles in, maybe I’ll just go run a mile on the treadmill.  

If you’ve read much at all of this blog, you know that ‘what was I thinking?’ seems to be a theme for me.  It is not possible to phrase that question strongly enough, no matter how many expletives or exclamation point slash question marks you could put in it.  

Love a duck.  I never really understood that phrase, and yet… it just fits.

Mind.  Numbing.  Soul. Sucking.  Fifteen.  Minutes.  Of.  Hell.  It’s not like I’ve never done a treadmill before.  I’ve had times where I had gym memberships before and all I would use is the treadmill.  I guess it’s like other things in my life that looking back I cannot comprehend, the kind of thing that makes you think maybe the whole ‘good old days’ thought is just an illusion.  The kind of thing that makes you wonder how you ever lived this long.  The kind of thing that makes you think Darwin was on to something.  

I know, that’s a bit extreme, we’re just talking about a treadmill, right?  But by the time I got done with it, that’s how I felt.  It probably didn’t help that it had a little TV screen on the top and the whole time I’m running I’m watching people with snarky expressions making snarky comments in snarky subtitles since I didn’t have my headphones on Hell’s Kitchen.  I probably should have turned it off, it might have made it more bearable.  I think this is what deer feel like when they get out on the highway and see the headlights coming. 

So I’m telling my wife about how miserable it was and she nods and calls it the dreadmill.  Then she makes this comment about how silly it seems to keep running and not go anywhere.

And this is where I really don’t get how stupid I can be.  I stop and I say yeah, but you know, when we go running outdoors, do we go anywhere?  We leave the house, we end up at the house, did we really get anywhere that way?

Was I just defending the treadmill?  

Maybe I should just re-title this whole blog “What the Hell Am I Thinking?”

To which she replies yeah, but how many trees and mountains and things do you see on the treadmill?  

My mind races right away to, well, you could see a lot you know, there’s a TV on it.  But I realize I don’t bring that up, she’ll just ask me if it was really that great watching subtitled snarkiness on Hell’s Kitchen.  

I hate when she’s smarter than I am.  Which is, like…. always.

So this morning when I got out and ran, it was so much better.  I love living in Colorado, I can see the mountains as I’m running, and even though it’s running through town it’s a mature enough neighborhood, the trees are great.  Even the barking of all the dogs that have to remind you how badly they need to defend their turf as you run by their house is so much more pleasant than the thunk thunk thunk of the treadmill (not to mention the thunking of all the other treadmills around).  The air feels fresh, it just feels…  awesome.  

Maybe I need to do the treadmill just a bit more often, if for no other reason than perspective.

About Ron Walter

I'm just a guy who was so out of shape he couldn't run to get out of the rain. I'm taking my life back. It's not always perfect, not always successful. The victories though are greater than the defeats. I plan to keep it that way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Like (soul sucking mind numbing) Night and Day

  1. Jenn says:

    I’m not a fan of the treadmill either. But it can get SO humid in TN that it becomes a near necessary evil for me in the summer. Boo to the dreadmill.

    • That was one of the side benefits to moving to Colorado is getting away from the humidity. Tennessee is flat out gorgeous but i’m too much of a humidity wimp to want to live there.

Leave a Reply

